Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga is a dynamic yoga style in which breathing and movement are combined in a series that increase awareness both physically and mentally. Vinyasa principle, the synchronized system of breathing and movement, contributes to a dynamic flow in and between the positions.

Ashtangayoga is individual, each individual have to follow their own body. Ashtanga is suitable for everyone regardless of age, physical condition or previous experience with yoga.

The Ashtanga yoga serie is individual and precise compound with postures from Hatha-Yoga tradition, and there are around fifty postures (asanas) in the first series. Each asana is preparing for the next.

Through regular practice, we can release the body from impurities, tensions and blockages. When doing the postures you get more strenght and the muscles become more smooth and flexible. Combustion and endurance improves, the mind becomes balanced and you can experience an inner peace.

Ashtangayoga is a philosophy based on ancient Indian texts and knowledge imparted by guru T. Krishnamacharya (1888-1989). Ashtangayoga as a method has been renewed several times for a scientific approach to body and mind. Among others, Guru Sri K. Pattabhi Jois (1915-2009) brought the tradition in modern times. Pattabhi Jois began as a student of Krishnamacharya in 1927, twelve years old.

According to Pattabhi Jois Ashtanga leaning on eighth limbs, with reference to the 2000 year old "Yoga Sutras" of Patanjali Rishi. Ashtau = eight.  Anga = limbs.

1.YAMA- moral principles and guidelines aimed at the outside world
2.NIYAMA- ethical guidelines against oneself, physical and mental purity
3.ASANA- physical exercises
4.PRANAYAMA- breathing technique
5.PRATYAHARA- draw senses back
6.DHARANA- concentration
7.DHYANA- meditation
8.SAMADHI- full presence